Skip Navigation

APU and Colorado Community College System Sign Transfer Credit Agreement

Charles Town, WV and Denver, CO  May 9, 2011 American Public University (APU), part of American Public University System, and Colorado Community College System (CCCS) today announced a transfer credit agreement. The 13 CCCS institutions collectively comprise the state’s largest system of higher education, with career and academic programs serving more than 151,000 students annually.

The announcement follows a similar APUS agreement earlier this month with Northern Virginia Community College, Virginia’s largest institution of higher education and also one of America's largest community colleges.   

"Colorado Community College System, like APU, is committed to providing access to an affordable, quality, post-secondary education to students,” said Dr. Wallace E. Boston, APUS President and CEO. “CCCS graduates will now be able to work in their chosen profession, while continuing their education online.” 

CCCS graduates can apply their eligible associate degree credits in a block format toward junior status at APU for the completion of bachelor’s degrees in subject areas ranging from history,  general studies and criminal justice to marketing, information systems security and transportation and logistics management, among many others.

“Our graduates seeking a wide variety of affordable bachelor’s programs will find that APU offers a seamless transfer option,” said CCCS President Nancy McCallin, Ph. D. “They will now have even greater flexibility to  fulfill their current family, community, and job obligations while pursuing their academic and professional aspirations at a regionally and nationally-accredited online institution.”

The full agreement is available at

Students can enroll for eight-week or 16-week online classes at APU, with coursework beginning the first Monday of each month. The undergraduate APU tuition cost is $250 per credit hour, and an APU book grant provides required texts and other reading materials at no charge to all undergraduate students earning academic credit. 

About Colorado Community College System
The Colorado Community College System comprises the state’s largest system of higher education and its career and academic programs in the 13 state community colleges serve more than 151,000 students annually. The system’s colleges include: Arapahoe Community College, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Community College of Aurora, Community College of Denver, Front Range Community College, Lamar Community College, Morgan Community College, Northeastern Junior College, Otero Junior College, Pueblo Community College, Pikes Peak Community College, Red Rocks Community College and Trinidad State Junior College.