Skip Navigation

Your APUS Cybersecurity Education Starts Here

The University System offers cyber-defense related curriculum at both the graduate and undergraduate levels through American Military University and American Public University. Students can choose from multidisciplinary degrees, concentrations, and certificate programs related to cyber defense, information security, information assurance, cybersecurity, national security, and digital forensics.

The National Security Agency (NSA) and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) have designated APUS as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education (CAE-CDE). This designation followed a review of the B.S. in Cybersecurity program.


graduate students

Degrees & Concentrations


Next Steps

New students

New students seeking information about cybersecurity education should contact the university's admissions team to learn more about the cybersecurity path that is right for you.

Current students

Current students interested in changing their major to a cybersecurity program should contact an academic advisor for assistance.

Career services

Our cybersecurity career guide, published by our experienced career services team, offers you resources and more information about working in the cybersecurity field. 

Contact your instructor

If you have specific questions about the life of a cybersecurity professional, speak to one of your instructors. Your faculty members work in the field of cybersecurity and can provide the view as a practitioner. You will see them sharing this information in their introductions, the discussion forums, and in their response to your assignments. Please take the opportunity to reach out to them for direct advice about life as a cybersecurity professional.

Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS)

The National Security Agency (NSA) Information Assurance Courseware Evaluation (IACE) Program has validated that the American Public University System courseware meets all of the elements of the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) National Training Standards for Information Systems Security (INFOSEC) Professionals, NSTISSI No. 4011 and System Administrators (SA), CNSSI No. 4013 Entry Level.